about2018-09-17T20:17:43+00:00

voici: THE TEN SPOT®

THE TEN SPOT® est le bar beauté anti-spa® original. sa mission est de faire en sorte que tout le monde puisse #FeelCommeUnDix.

au menu:

  • manucure (vous avez peut-être 15 minutes, ou 55 minutes. peu importe le temps que vous avez, nous avons une manucure pour vous)
  • pédicure (y compris au gel – allo séchage instantané!)
  • teinture des sourcils + cils
  • épilation à la cire – au-dessus de la ceinture, sous la ceinture + partout entre les deux. nous sommes reconnus pour notre épilation à la cire brazilly® (on enlève tout ou presque tout, vous décidez!)
  • épilation au fil (*offerte à la plupart de nos adresses)
  • le laser! eh oui, nous avons l’appareil le plus sécuritaire, le plus rapide et le moins douloureux sur le marché. des résultats de fou, et vous pouvez payer à la carte, en un rien de temps. nous allons régler votre cas en une minute apaisante!

qu’est-ce que ça veut dire de #FeelCommeUnDix? nous croyons que tout le monde mérite de se sentir comme un dix en tout temps. c’est une question de confiance. une femme confiante peut tout faire : réussir ses projets professionnels, être une déesse de la maison et avoir l’air fantastique en faisant tout ça.

continuez de lire pour apprendre comment THE TEN SPOT®, qui était un seul salon sur la rue queen ouest à toronto, est maintenant le plus gros et le meilleur de l’industrie de la beauté.

notre mission est de faire en sorte que tout le monde
puisse se sentir comme un dix.

depuis que le tout premier 10spot® a ouvert ses portes en 2006, l’objectif est demeuré simple : combler le manque entre les spas haut de gamme offrant des services démesurés et, à l’autre bout du spectre, les salons de manucure bon marché et souvent douteux. THE TEN SPOT® se situe idéalement dans ce créneau depuis dix ans.

un brin de réalité expliquant pourquoi nous sommes différents (et meilleurs!) que les autres acteurs de l’industrie :

né à toronto en 2006.

THE TEN SPOT® a été conceptualisé et créé par kristen wood (autrefois gale, parce qu’elle est mariée et traditionnelle) alors qu’elle mangeait une pointe de tarte avec son ami craiggie (craig) un soir en 2006.

avec un désir ardent de démarrer sa propre entreprise et percevant une lacune dans le marché des services de spas/salons à toronto, spécialement pour ce qui est d’offrir des services dans un environnement combinant l’efficacité des salons bon marché et l’excellence des normes de qualité des spas haut de gamme, elle a ouvert le premier bar beauté spécialisé et anti-spa de toronto sur queen ouest.

elle a écrit son plan d’affaires en une nuit (jusqu’à 6 h du matin pour être exact), l’a soumis pour un prêt, a signé un bail deux jours plus tard, a entrepris la construction, et le reste appartient à l’histoire.

trois mois plus tard, kristen ouvrait les portes de son salon phare situé au 749, rue queen ouest à toronto. THE TEN SPOT® a rapidement gagné en popularité et a obtenu la reconnaissance dans toutes les publications sur la beauté au canada durant sa première année d’exploitation. au cours des quatre années suivantes, kristen a ouvert trois nouvelles boutiques mères. le concept s’est avéré aussi populaire dans chaque marché local où il s’est établi, et kristen est entrée dans le monde magnifique de la franchise pour permettre aux entrepreneurs en herbe de vivre l’exaltation et la liberté que seules les petites entreprises permettent d’obtenir. (psst, consultez la section sur les franchises pour en apprendre davantage!)

l’équipe du siège social

kristen wood
fondatrice + PDG

kristen est la PDG et la fondatrice de THE TEN SPOT®. à titre de PDG, kristen se concentre principalement sur la supervision de la marque, le développement et l’expansion – elle touche à tout; de l’élaboration des nouveaux protocoles de service à la conception du matériel de promotion en passant par les repas arrosés avec les nouveaux partenaires de franchise. kristen a été nommée l’une des 100 femmes entrepreneures les plus influentes par les magazines PROFIT et chatelaine en 2016 et a permis à THE TEN SPOT® de faire partie des 500 compagnies affichant la croissance la plus rapide en 2016 dans le magazine PROFIT. depuis son ouverture, THE TEN SPOT® s’est étendu de façon exponentielle partout au canada, et prévoit s’implanter aux états-unis! kristen est aussi conférencière avec le national speakers bureau du canada.

lorsque kristen n’est pas au bureau, elle est en pâmoison devant son jeune fils et profite de sa soirée en amoureux hebdomadaire avec son mari.

laura wittholz
directrice des finances

laura s’est jointe à THE TEN SPOT® dès les premiers jours. incapable de contrôler sa passion pour les chiffres et les algorithmes complexes, laura a obtenu son baccalauréat en administration des affaires (b.b.a.) avec une majeure en comptabilité de ryerson, puis a reçu sa désignation à titre de comptable professionnelle agréée (CPA, CGA) en 2015. à titre de directrice des finances, laura gère la stratégie financière du groupe d’entreprises de THE TEN SPOT® et supervise la comptabilité, les technologies de l’information, la planification financière et les fonctions de budgétisation. laura travaille avec chaque salon pour assurer que tout se déroule sans accroc et qu’il réalise des profits! lorsque laura n’est pas au bureau, vous la trouverez sur un terrain de volleyball, ou encore en compagnie de felix, son mari concepteur super cool, leur chien tica et leur chat stella, ou à la cidrerie familiale de brighton, où elle fabrique un cidre alcoolisé artisanal local.

brady wood
directeur de l’exploitation

brady est responsable du rendement de l’organisation et des initiatives de croissance, et est le point de contact et le coach de nos partenaires de franchise. avant de se joindre à THE TEN SPOT®, brady a occupé pendant plus de dix ans un poste de cadre supérieur dans le domaine de la santé, où il a obtenu une réputation de communicateur et de stratégiste habile, en contribuant à soutenir les hôpitaux à la fine pointe et ceux faisant face à des défis dans toute la province. en plus de THE TEN SPOT®, brady offre aussi ses services privés en stratégie et en réputation. avec l’éducation qu’il a reçue à western, york et mcmaster, il est également éducateur et membre de plusieurs conseils d’administration de sociétés et d’organismes à but non lucratif.

beth macbean
directrice du développement

beth est la directrice du développement pour les bars beauté THE TEN SPOT®. à titre de membre la plus récente de l’équipe du siège social en constante expansion, elle est le moteur du siège social pour ce qui est de toutes les nouvelles constructions de boutiques de bars beauté, du développement de l’immobilier, de la gestion de projet et de la gestion de la construction. beth est passionnée du grand air, du canoë et de l’embellissement des espaces extérieurs. fait intéressant : elle a entrepris la construction d’une cabane faite à partir d’un conteneur maritime!

leslie elvidge

leslie elvidge
gestionnaire des pratiques et des produits esthétiques

que ce soit pour une fine couche de vernis qui effleure la cuticule sans l’inonder, ou pour une ligne de bikini épilée à la cire de façon immaculée, leslie n’abandonnera pas avant que tout soit parfait. venant de sault-sainte-marie, au nord de l’ontario, leslie a gagné ses lettres en esthétique dans toutes sortes de spas à toronto – dans les hôtels et les salons, les salons de marque, les boutiques indépendantes et dans son propre salon au centre-ville, où sa carrière de plus de 18 ans a culminé. avant de se joindre à notre équipe, elle enseignait l’esthétique, et elle a joint les rangs de THE TEN SPOT® à titre de gérante de la boutique THE TEN SPOT® de la rue bloor ouest. la passion de leslie pour l’esthétique coule dans ses veines, alors son rôle de gestionnaire des pratiques et des produits esthétiques au siège social est tout naturel pour elle. elle travaille en étroite collaboration avec nos boutiques mères et nos franchises où elle enseigne la voie de THE TEN SPOT®. dans ses temps libres, elle passe tout son temps avec son mari et son bébé, clark.

katherine edey

katherine edey
comptable + adjointe administrative

katherine est la comptable et l’adjointe administrative au siège social de THE TEN SPOT®. elle appuie la directrice des finances pour tout ce qui touche aux chiffres et à la comptabilité, et est l’adjointe administrative et la gestionnaire de bureau au siège social. katherine est une consommatrice passionnée de produits de beauté, amatrice de fine nourriture et amoureuse de la comptabilité. elle détient un diplôme en comptabilité d’entreprise et, tout comme son mari, elle possède de l’expérience en comptabilité publique. lorsqu’elle ne songe pas aux débits et crédits ou qu’elle ne considère pas les plus récents principes de comptabilité, on peut la trouver dans sa cuisine où elle essaie de nouvelles recettes ou encore couverte de colle en train de faire un projet de bricolage. bonjour, pinterest.

about2018-12-07T19:28:56+00:00

meet: THE TEN SPOT®

THE TEN SPOT® is the original anti spa® beauty bar. on a mission to make everyone #FeelLikeATen.

on the menu:

  • manis (maybe you have 15 mins, maybe you have 55. however long you’ve got, we have a mani for that)
  • pedis (including gel – hello instant drying!)
  • brow + lash tinting 
  • waxing – above the belt, below the belt + everything in between. we’re famous for our signature brazilly® wax* (everything off or almost everything off, you decide!)
  • threading (*available at most locations)
  • laser! yep, that’s right. we’ve got the safest, fastest, most pain-free machine on the market. amazing af results + you can pay as you go, on the go. we’ll get ya in and out in a cool minute!

what does it mean to #FeelLikeATen? we think everyone deserves to feel like a ten all the time. it’s all about confidence. a confident woman can do anything: nail her work projects, be a domestic goddess, and look fabulous doing it.

read on to find out more about how THE TEN SPOT® grew from a single salon on queen west in toronto to be the biggest and best in the beauty biz.

*please note: we don’t perform any specialty waxing or laser services on men (sorry, fellas!)

we exist to make everyone feel like a ten.

ever since the first 10spot® opened in 2006, the goal has been simple: bridge the gap between upscale spas offering over-the-top services and at the other end of the spectrum, the cheap and oftentimes questionable chop shops. this niche has been the sweet spot for THE TEN SPOT® for the past decade.

a little real-ness on why we’re different (and better!) than any other player in the biz:

toronto born in 2006.

THE TEN SPOT® was conceptualized + created by kristen gale over a slice of pie with her friend craiggie (craig) one night in ‘06.

with a burning desire to start her own business and perceiving a gap in the current spa/salon service offerings in Toronto, specifically the need for services offered in an environment that combines the efficiency of low-end nail salons with the quality standards excellence of high-end spas, she opened up toronto’s first niche beauty bar and “anti-spa” on queen west.

she wrote a business plan overnight (till 6am to be exact), submitted it for a loan, signed a lease two days later, started on construction + the rest is history.

three months later, kristen opened her doors of their now flagship location at 749 queen st west in toronto. THE TEN SPOT® quickly gained a cult following and amassed recognition in every national beauty publication within its first year of operation. during the next four years, kristen opened three new corporate stores. the concept was just as popular in every neighbourhood market it entered, she entered the wonderful world of franchising to give budding entrepreneurs the same rush and freedom that only small business give. (pssst, check out the franchising section to learn more!)

the hq crew

kristen gale
creator + ceo

kristen is the ceo + creator of THE TEN SPOT®. as ceo, kristen’s main focus is on brand oversight, development and expansion – she has her hands in everything; from developing new service protocols to designing collateral and wining and dining all our new franchise partners. kristen was named one of PROFIT/chatelaine magazine’s top 100 female entrepreneurs in Canada in 2016 and has landed THE TEN SPOT® on PROFIT 500’s fastest growing companies in 2016. since its first opening THE TEN SPOT® has grown exponentially across canada with plans for the US of A! kristen is also a speaker with the canadian national  speaker’s bureau.

laura wittholz
cfo

laura has been with THE TEN SPOT® since the very early days. unable to control her passion for figures and complex algorithms, laura earned her bachelor of business administration (b.b.a.) majoring in accounting from ryerson then became designated as a  chartered professional accountant (CPA, CGA) in 2015. as cfo laura manages the financial strategy of THE TEN SPOT® group of businesses + oversees the accounting, IT, financial planning and budgeting functions.  laura works with each location to ensure everything is running smoothly and is turning a profit! when laura is not at the office you can find her on the volleyball court, hanging out with her super cool designer husband felix, their dog tica + cat stella.

sarah greco
cmo

sarah is the guardian of the brand and is responsible for building brand love + awareness. she oversees all 10spot® design elements (including in-store design) and all content curation. she leads on the development of our national marketing strategy, administers the ad fund, provides local marketing support for franchisees and leads on research + development for our 10spot® beauty line. sarah is a graduate of one canada’s top biz schools and brings experience from both advertising and brand management at global corporate firms, like unilever and ogilvy. most recently has been teaching marketing strategy at a local toronto college. when work + teaching allows for a break, you will find her traveling the world or at a yoga class.

beth macbean
director of development

beth macbean is the director of development at THE TEN SPOT® beauty bars. as the newest member of the ever expanding hq crew, she is driving the bus at hq on all new beauty bar location builds, real estate development, project management + construction management. beth is is passionate about the outdoors, canoeing the refurbishment of outdoor spaces. fun fact: she is in the process of building a shipping container cabin!

leslie elvidge

leslie elvidge
manager of education + quality

from a sleek slick of polish that hugs but never crowds the cuticle to an immaculately waxed bikini line, leslie will not rest until everything is in its place. a northern ontario girl — from the soo, leslie earned her esthetics stripes in toronto spas of all sorts – in hotels and salons, corporate brands, indie boutiques and culminating in her own downtown joint over the course of her 18+ year career. prior to joining our crew she was a teacher of esthetics, leslie started her career at THE TEN SPOT® as the manager of THE TEN SPOT® bloor west location. leslie’s passion for esthetics runs deep so she slides effortlessly into her hq role as THE TEN SPOT®’s manager of education + quality. she works closely with both our corporate and franchise locations teaching them THE TEN SPOT® way. when she isn’t in the office she is spending all her time with her husband and baby boy, clark.

kaitlyn severin
marketing coordinator

if you’ve ever wondered who hosts and maintains THE TEN SPOT®‘s social media accounts, you’re looking right at her! a recent communications grad and former newspaper editor, kaitlyn is the marketing coordinator of THE TEN SPOT®  and oversees all things social media, in-store marketing promotions and content creation. she is responsible for taking great care of the THE TEN SPOT®‘s official website and providing the correct info and services to all 10spotters and franchise partners. she works closely with the cmo, sarah greco (whom she shares a birthday with!) and the ceo, kristen gale, in building brand awareness and recognition. when kaitlyn isn’t working with hq, she loves to take time out of her day to pet any dog she sees, search for the best ramen restaurants in toronto,  and take long, romantic walks to her kitchen.

katherine edey

katherine edey
accounting + executive assistant

katherine is the accountant and executive assistant at THE TEN SPOT® hq. she supports the cfo with all things numbers + accounting and is the executive assistant + office manager at hq. katherine is an enthusiastic beauty consumer, foodie and accounting aficionado. katherine has a diploma in business accounting, and just like her husband, has a background in public accounting. when she isn’t dreaming in debits and credits or debating the newest accounting principles, you can find her in the kitchen trying a new recipe or covered in glue from her latest diy project. hello, pinterest.

paulina berlingieri
field consultant

paulina is the field consultant for THE TEN SPOT®. she is a certified esthetician with an obsession for protocols and has over 10 years experience in the industry. in 2014, she started as the lead esthetic expert of the guelph location and started training 10spotters nationally. she then became the manager of the hamilton, working her way up to her consulting role at hq. she is responsible for being the ‘tour guide’ for franchise partners, walking them through each step of their process from management training to opening. when she isn’t in the office she is hiking with her better half + weimaraner tilly or riding horses.